This sculpture was created in 1987 by Polish artist Igor Mitoraj. It is located near the Old Town Hall on the Lower Bridge in Bamberg. In the background you can see Michelsberg Abbey, which is currently being renovated. Continue reading
Ehrenburg palace (Schloss Ehrenburg) was the residence palace of the dukes of Saxe-Coburg until 1918. It was built in the 16th century from a Franciscan monastery. The present façade in English Gothic Revival style was designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel in the beginning of the 19th century.
The Coburg Riding Hall (Coburger Reiterhalle) is in the immediate vicinity of Ehrenburg Palace (Schloss Ehrenburg). It was built in 1852 according to the plans of master builder Georg Konrad Rothbart. The sculptural horse’s head in the tondo directly above the pointed arch portal was created by Theodor Behrens.
The manhole covers in Coburg show the city arms. They display the head of Saint Maurice, the patron of the city. According to legend, Saint Maurice died as leader of the Theban Legion a martyr’s death in the 3rd century. In general, this depiction of him is known as Coburger Mohr (Coburg Moor).
Finstergrün Castle (Burg Finstergrün) is located high over Ramingstein, a place of the Lungau region in the Austrian state of Salzburg. The castle was first mentioned in 12th century. Today it houses a hostel. The pic was taken while passing Ramingstein by a local train of the Styrian Railway (Steiermärkische Landesbahnen)
This sundial, located at the parish church of Tamsweg depicts James, son of Zebedee (Jakobus der Ältere) who is the patron of this church. Tamsweg is the largest town of the Lungau region in the Austrian state of Salzburg.
A sator square seen on a facade in Golling an der Salzach. The sator square, also known as rotas square, is a word square containing a five-word Latin palindrome. The oldest datable representation of a sator square was found in Pompeii.
The coat of arms of the Fuschl am See displays two trees and a fish. The place in the Austrian region of Flachau is known for a lake which provided the court of the Archbishops in Salzburg with fresh fish. This pic was taken on board of a Zille, a special type of boat, which is in operation on this lake.
This fresco with a sundial is located on a wall of the old university at the Max-Reinhard-Platz. It was created by Georg Jung (1899-1957). The depictions refer to the four faculties of that university which was founded by Prince Archbishop Paris von Lodron in 1622.
This public clock, reflected in a simple window, is located on top of a walk way connecting the Franciscan monastery with the Franciscan church in Salzburg.