This sculpture was created in 1987 by Polish artist Igor Mitoraj. It is located near the Old Town Hall on the Lower Bridge in Bamberg. In the background you can see Michelsberg Abbey, which is currently being renovated. Continue reading
Ehrenburg palace (Schloss Ehrenburg) was the residence palace of the dukes of Saxe-Coburg until 1918. It was built in the 16th century from a Franciscan monastery. The present façade in English Gothic Revival style was designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel in the beginning of the 19th century.
The Coburg Riding Hall (Coburger Reiterhalle) is in the immediate vicinity of Ehrenburg Palace (Schloss Ehrenburg). It was built in 1852 according to the plans of master builder Georg Konrad Rothbart. The sculptural horse’s head in the tondo directly above the pointed arch portal was created by Theodor Behrens.
The manhole covers in Coburg show the city arms. They display the head of Saint Maurice, the patron of the city. According to legend, Saint Maurice died as leader of the Theban Legion a martyr’s death in the 3rd century. In general, this depiction of him is known as Coburger Mohr (Coburg Moor).
Remarkable sculpture created by the artist Jürgen Goertz seen on an even more striking place. It is situated in sight distance of Albrecht Dürer’s home, the creator of the famous painting: ‘Young Hare’.