This sculpture was created in 1987 by Polish artist Igor Mitoraj. It is located near the Old Town Hall on the Lower Bridge in Bamberg. In the background you can see Michelsberg Abbey, which is currently being renovated. Continue reading
Ehrenburg palace (Schloss Ehrenburg) was the residence palace of the dukes of Saxe-Coburg until 1918. It was built in the 16th century from a Franciscan monastery. The present façade in English Gothic Revival style was designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel in the beginning of the 19th century.
The Coburg Riding Hall (Coburger Reiterhalle) is in the immediate vicinity of Ehrenburg Palace (Schloss Ehrenburg). It was built in 1852 according to the plans of master builder Georg Konrad Rothbart. The sculptural horse’s head in the tondo directly above the pointed arch portal was created by Theodor Behrens.
The manhole covers in Coburg show the city arms. They display the head of Saint Maurice, the patron of the city. According to legend, Saint Maurice died as leader of the Theban Legion a martyr’s death in the 3rd century. In general, this depiction of him is known as Coburger Mohr (Coburg Moor).
The library was founded at the beginning of the 18th century by August Hermann Francke for the teachers and pupils at the schools of the Francke Foundations. The edifice built in the years 1726-1728 is regarded as Germany’s oldest surviving secular library building.
The Talent 2 is a multiple unit railcar manufactured by Bombardier Transportation. The first trains were produced in 2008. The design of the cab ends made German people to call this type of train Hamsterbacke (hamster cheek). The depicted train is run by the S-Bahn Mitteldeutschland.
Giebichenstein Castle (Burg Giebichenstein) is part of the Romanesque Road (Strasse der Romanik). Today it is used by the Kunsthochschule Halle (Academy of Arts). Being a Burgward in the 9th century, the castle became a royal residence of Otto I, Holy Roman Emperor.
“Under the Sun of Arcadia” – one of several rooms at the Handel House (Händelhaus) in Halle. The magical atmosphere of the room refers to the idea that George Frideric Handel (Georg Friedrich Händel) wrote many of his compositions under an arbour in Italy.
The Donkey Fountain (Eselsbrunnen) on the Old Market (Alter Markt) in Halle (Saale) was built in 1913. The bronze sculpture was created by the sculptor Heinrich Keiling. The man who walks with a donkey over a rug of roses refers to an old legend.
The cabinet of art and natural history (Kunst- und Naturalienkammer) was created by August Hermann Francke in 1698. Today this collection is regarded as the only fully preserved cabinet of curiosities dating from the Baroque age.