Finstergrün Castle (Burg Finstergrün) is located high over Ramingstein, a place of the Lungau region in the Austrian state of Salzburg. The castle was first mentioned in 12th century. Today it houses a hostel. The pic was taken while passing Ramingstein by a local train of the Styrian Railway (Steiermärkische Landesbahnen)
This sundial, located at the parish church of Tamsweg depicts James, son of Zebedee (Jakobus der Ältere) who is the patron of this church. Tamsweg is the largest town of the Lungau region in the Austrian state of Salzburg.
A sator square seen on a facade in Golling an der Salzach. The sator square, also known as rotas square, is a word square containing a five-word Latin palindrome. The oldest datable representation of a sator square was found in Pompeii.
The coat of arms of the Fuschl am See displays two trees and a fish. The place in the Austrian region of Flachau is known for a lake which provided the court of the Archbishops in Salzburg with fresh fish. This pic was taken on board of a Zille, a special type of boat, which is in operation on this lake.
This fresco with a sundial is located on a wall of the old university at the Max-Reinhard-Platz. It was created by Georg Jung (1899-1957). The depictions refer to the four faculties of that university which was founded by Prince Archbishop Paris von Lodron in 1622.
The Braumeisterstube is part of the Sternbräu Restaurant in Salzburg. This restaurant was first mentioned in 1542 and offers several old and modern rooms for having a glass of beer or a traditional meal.
Warning: sizeof(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/.sites/917/site523/web/wp-content/plugins/ad-injection/ad-injection.php on line 824
Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/.sites/917/site523/web/wp-content/plugins/ad-injection/ad-injection.php on line 831
Since 1422 tanners have been working at the address Lederergasse 5 in Salzburg. At the same address there is still a shop run by the family Schliesselberger selling goods made of leather. During opening hours you can visit a fascinating detail of Salzburg: In a room on the 1st floor there are some frescoes probably dating back to the mid of 16th century. More…
This piece seen in the Steingasse reminded me of the fact that a lot of stove setters (Hafner) used to work in this street in earlier times. Luise Spannring is a known name as well. She became famous for running a ceramic school and creating many nice things, e.g. nativity scenes made of ceramic. Continue reading →
Höch Caste (Schloss Höch), first mentioned in 11th century, offers a nice view over the Flachau area. Inside there is a big salon with a splendid decoration made of wood. Owned by a shareholder of a pit (‘Gewerke’) for a long time it serves as venue for cultural events now. More…