This sculpture was created in 1987 by Polish artist Igor Mitoraj. It is located near the Old Town Hall on the Lower Bridge in Bamberg. In the background you can see Michelsberg Abbey, which is currently being renovated.
Ehrenburg palace (Schloss Ehrenburg) was the residence palace of the dukes of Saxe-Coburg until 1918. It was built in the 16th century from a Franciscan monastery. The present façade in English Gothic Revival style was designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel in the beginning of the 19th century.
The Coburg Riding Hall (Coburger Reiterhalle) is in the immediate vicinity of Ehrenburg Palace (Schloss Ehrenburg). It was built in 1852 according to the plans of master builder Georg Konrad Rothbart. The sculptural horse’s head in the tondo directly above the pointed arch portal was created by Theodor Behrens.
The manhole covers in Coburg show the city arms. They display the head of Saint Maurice, the patron of the city. According to legend, Saint Maurice died as leader of the Theban Legion a martyr’s death in the 3rd century. In general, this depiction of him is known as Coburger Mohr (Coburg Moor).
Photo of Michelsberg Abbey in Bamberg taken from the grounds of the New Residence (Neue Residenz). More…
The New Residence (Neue Residenz) of the Bamberg Prince-Bishops consists of more than 40 staterooms featuring stucco-work ceilings, furniture and tapestries from the 17th and 18th centuries.
The old city hall (Altes Rathaus) of Bamberg was first mentioned in 1387. It is famous for its special location in the middle of the Regnitz River and for the fine painted façade made by Johann Anwender. More…