The Coburg Riding Hall (Coburger Reiterhalle) is in the immediate vicinity of Ehrenburg Palace (Schloss Ehrenburg). It was built in 1852 according to the plans of master builder Georg Konrad Rothbart. The sculptural horse’s head in the tondo directly above the pointed arch portal was created by Theodor Behrens.
Right next to the buildings of the Francke Foundations I came across this fascinating architecture. It’s the headquarter of the German Federal Cultural Foundation (Kulturstiftung des Bundes). The purpose of this foundation is to promote and fund art and culture within the framework of federal responsibility.
In Rostock, there are a lot of colourful gabled houses to see. It is big fun to walk through the streets and to count how many different gables one discover. Even this gable of a newly built edifice next to the old town hall has something decorative to offer.
Following the signs to the old entrance hall of the main railway stations leads to a gem of Art Nouveau. The nearby Fantova kavárna (Fanta café) reminds on the architect of this hall: Josef Fanta (1856-1954).
Detail of the Cranach House (Cranachhaus) located on the market place of Weimar. Lucas Cranach the Elder stayed here for the last period of his life in the years 1552/53. The Renaissce building was built in the years 1547/49.
The Freihaus of Christoph Weiß was built at the end of the 16th century. The Renaissance building is especially known for its window frames made of diamond-shaped bossages.
The Majolikahaus was built in 1898. The building was designed by Otto Wagner, the floral design at the façade was created by his student Alois Ludwig. The name of the house refers to the fact, that the façade is revetted with Maiolica ([ger.] = Majolika) elements.
The Hauptfeuerwache Mariahilf (Primary fire station Mariahilf) was built in the years 1912/14. The style is called Heimatstil, the windows are designed in the style of the Wiener Werkstätte. The building is protected as a historic monument.
The Arik-Brauer-Haus was built in the years 1991-1994. It was designed in the style of fantastic Realism by the Austrian artist Arik Brauer.
Haus Wittgenstein, situated on the Kundmanngasse, was designed by architect Paul Engelmann and philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein. Originally it was the home of Ludwig’s sister Margaret Stonborough-Wittgenstein. Today it houses the cultural department of the Bulgarian Embassy.
This building was built in 1899/1901 for the company Portois & Fix by the architect Max Fabiani. The façade is decorated by tiles produced in the Hungarian porcelain manufacture Zsolnay. The pattern of the façade was designed by using tiles with two different shades of green.
The Schützenhaus was built in 1908. It was designed by Otto Wagner and was intended for technical equipment as part of a barrage and a winter port at the Donaukanal. Today it houses a restaurant named ‘Otto Wagner Schützenhaus’.